My Dear Husband’s First Birthday in Heaven

Today would be my dear husband, Chester’s 74th birthday. It’s been rather difficult for me today. I would have made him a special supper, had a card and a gift for him but he’s celebrating his birthday in heaven for the first time. I can imagine it must be a wonderful celebration in heaven where everything is perfect and wonderful.

Of course his parents and his sister Barb would be there and our son and daughter would be there as well. I wouldn’t leave my mom out either. She became a mother to him when his own mom was still living in England.

I don’t know if they celebrate birthdays there like we do here you know with the cake and candles etc. but I’m sure it’s still a celebration, probably nothing like we have here but better. Good food, laughter, and a good time.  In heaven you don’t forget what went on on earth. I believe our minds are sharper. So I believe they remember birthdays.

Revelation 6:9-10 King James Version (KJV)

And when he had opened the fifth seal, I saw under the altar the souls of them that were slain for the word of God, and for the testimony which they held:

10 And they cried with a loud voice, saying, How long, O Lord, holy and true, dost thou not judge and avenge our blood on them that dwell on the earth?

 

1 Corinthians 13:12 King James Version (KJV)

12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

Usually we would have cake and candles. Good food, decorations, laughter, gifts, and a good time by all. This year is entirely different. Quiet, and empty. Remembering the good times as recent as a year ago. Man, I miss those good times. I miss him, the love of my life. All I have now is the memories, not just of his birthday but all those times we spent together – yes, the good, bad and the ugly.  Even the bad and the ugly seem sweet now, because we actually spent that time together. I would give anything just to spend five more minutes with my love but I can’t. I have to wait until God sees fit.

I pray for the time in the future when we are all together again to not just to spend birthdays but all kinds of celebrations. I believe heaven is like Christmas,birthdays and all those wonderful celebrations all wrapped up into one all the time.  Spending time in the presence of our Lord I think is the ultimate celebration.
I know  what the love of my life, Chester would like for his birthday this year. That is that everyone come and join him in that beautiful place one day. It’s very easy.  This is all you have to do.

Acts 16:31 King James Version (KJV)

31 And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.

I’ll be there with bells on!

Happy Birthday My Love! I love you and miss you.

Image result for birthday in heaven

 

 

Leave a comment